Experimental Hematopathology Committee

The mission of the Experimental Hematopathology Committee is to promote science and research in hematopathology.   All types of research – from basic, mechanistic to translational, diagnostic research - are important and critical to keeping the field of hematopathology vital and at the cutting-edge of science. Through the activities of this committee, we hope to encourage the next generation of hematopathologists to initiate and organize activities that bring basic and translational science to the practice of hematopathology.  In addition to organizing scientific and educational sessions at the SH-related meetings, the committee will promote mentorship to hematopathologists who aspire to careers in research by providing a formal network of faculty mentors/role models from around the U.S.  The committee will promote high impact/quality research and collaborations driven by hematopathologists. 

The committee members are physician-scientists who are also clinically active hematopathologists.

Christopher Y. Park, MD, PhD (Committee Chair)

Associate Professor
Director of Pathology Education and Translational Research
Department of Pathology
NYU School of Medicine
New York, NY


Kathleen H. Burns, M.D., Ph.D.

Deputy Director (Vice Chair) for Research 
Associate Director, Pathology Residency Program
Department of Pathology
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD


Aly Karsan, MD

Medical Director, Centre for Clinical Genomics, Michael Smith Genome Sciences Centre, BC Cancer Agency
Medical Director, Cancer Genetics Laboratory, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, BC Cancer Agency
University of British Columbia
Vancouver, Canada

Megan S. Lim, MD, PhD

Director, Hematopathology
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine
Philadelphia, PA


Dinesh S. Rao, M.D. Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Director, Translational Research
Associate Director, Residency Program
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
Los Angeles, CA